Sixth Mass​-​Extinction Skulduggery II

GRIDFAILURE: Sixth Mass​-​Extinction Skulduggery II


Sixth Mass​-​Extinction Skulduggery II

As resources are depleted, so are morals. This is the underlying theme of GRIDFAILURE’s Sixth Mass-Extinction Skulduggery II. To be seeing release during an actual worldwide pandemic is nothing short of ironic evidence.

Release Date: June 05, 2020
Catalog ID: NEF-50-2

The first three albums in GRIDFAILURE’s five-album Sixth Mass-Extinction Skulduggery concept series – Sixth Mass-Extinction Skulduggery I, II, and III – embody current unraveling of society: murder, outbreak, dystopian governments, warfare, depletion of resources, and survival by any means necessary. The final two albums in the series – Teeth Collection and Drought Stick – prophesize the next phase of society with a further atavistic style. The second installment in this dark arc delivers an expansive dose of pulsating wrath which shows GRIDFAILURE’s harsh dirge diving into further depths of the ongoing apocalypse in which we’re currently living, as humankind consumes itself and the entire planet and nature’s wrath becomes more apparent by the day. 

Marauding factions, societal collapse, revenge, organ harvesting, nuclear warfare, widespread contagion, unfathomable storms, cannibalism, and other grim topics poetically permeate this intense album which fully envisions the extreme, anti-genre, experimental vision more than any prior release from GRIDFAILURE to date. Its fifteen movements consume a mammoth hour-and-fourteen minutes.

Containing material spanning GRIDFAILURE’s entire four-year lifespan, Sixth Mass-Extinction Skulduggery II infuses many styles of analog and digital percussion, acoustic and electric guitars, bass, ukulele, many types of keys and synth, accordion, trumpet, theremin, powerelectronics, harmonica, didgeridoo, field recordings, and more, some of which were recorded outdoors including in extreme weather events. The outfit’s hostile soloist David Brenner created the entire album, performed multiple instruments on all tracks including some fully solo. Yet as with many GRIDFAILURE albums, a wide array of guest contributors and collaborators offer their talented and varied arts to the album’s diverse flow. The album features musicians from the outfit’s New York City home region, and many others from California, Pennsylvania, Florida, Texas, Colorado, Indiana, Arkansas, and China, including contributions from GRIDFAILURE’s primary live members – Benjamin Levitt (Megalophobe), Greg Meisenberg (Maid Myriad, A Fucking Elephant), and Richard Muller (The Third Kind, Vise Massacre, Great Planes) – as well as Mac Gollehon (David Bowie, Miles Davis, Onyx, Madonna, Blondie), Liz Ciavarella-Brenner, Faith Ciavarella, Pete Tsakiris, Leila Abdul-Rauf (Vastum, Fyrhtu), Nathan Verrill (Fyrhtu, Cardinal Wyrm), No One (T.O.M.B., Dreadlords), Clayton Batholomew (Mountaineer, ex-Secrets Of The Sky), Dave Small (Cutworm), Christian Molenaar (Those Darn Gnomes), Lane Oliver (Feel Happiness, Yatsu), Christopher Henry (Fuck Your Birthday, Humans Etcetera), Jeff Wilson (Chrome Waves), Matt Bacon, Andrew Hess, and Chuck Schaaf (Deadbird, ex-Rwake) and his family Star, Izzie, and Mason Schaaf.

Sixth Mass-Extinction Skulduggery II was performed/arranged, recorded, and mixed by David Brenner at The Compound in Valley Cottage, New York, who also drew the cover art, after which it was mastered by Dan Emery at Black Matter Mastering in Nashville, Tennessee (Kool Keith, Benjamin Tod, Krieg, Thetan).

01 Stoking The Embers
02 No Defensive Wounds To Be Found
03 Outlander Harvesters
04 Sabotaging Panacea
05 Invocate Collapse
06 Rapid Intensification
07 Proven Finite
08 Sixth Mass-Extinction Skulduggery II: As Resources Are Depleted, So Are Morals
09 Red Tide Baptism
10 Farmer Suicide
11 Autophagia Demonstration
12 Wish To Disinvent
13 Debris Signature
14 Beyond Containment
15 Irma

Conceived, executed, engineered, and mixed by Dave Brenner
Mastered by Dan Emery at Black Matter


“Stoking The Embers”
David Brenner – Vocals, Drums, Percussion, Recorder, Effects, Field Recordings
Leila Abdul-Rauf – Vocals
Nathan Verrill – Vocals, Effects
Matt Bacon – Classical Guitar

“No Defensive Wounds To Be Found”
David Brenner – Vocals, Keyboards, Percussion, Theremin, Effects
Greg Meisenberg – Bass

“Outlander Harvesters”
David Brenner – Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Keyboards, Drums/Percussion, Field Recordings, Effects
Mac Gollehon – Trumpet
Benjamin Levitt – Accordion, Effects
Richard Muller – Drums, Percussion

“Sabotaging Panacea”
David Brenner – Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Bass, Keyboards, Immersion Contact Mic, Effects, Field Recordings
Greg Meisenberg – Bass
Pete Tsakiris – Guitar
Richard Muller – Drums
Matt Bacon – Classical Guitar
No One – Noise, Effects

“Invocate Collapse”
David Brenner – Vocals, Bass, Percussion, Effects
Faith Ciavarella – Vocals
Clayton Bartholomew – Guitar, Effects
Dave Small – Percussion, Programming

“Rapid Intensification”
David Brenner – Vocals, Bass, Drums, Field Recordings

“Proven Finite”
David Brenner – Vocals, Analog Drum Machine, Field Recordings
Faith Ciavarella – Vocals
Christian Molenaar – Guitar
Jeff Wilson – Synth

“Sixth Mass-Extinction Skulduggery II: As Resources Are Depleted, So Are Morals”
David Brenner – Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Analog Drum Machine, Percussion, Effects, Field Recordings
Benjamin Levitt – Accordion, Effects
Lane Oliver – Guitar
Matt Bacon – Classical Guitar

“Red Tide Baptism”
David Brenner – Vocals, Bass, Keyboards, Percussion, Effects, Field Recordings
Faith Ciavarella – Vocals
Lane Oliver – Guitar
Pete Tsakiris – Guitar, Effects
No One – Noise, Effects
Liz Ciavarella-Brenner – Keyboards, Effects

“Farmer Suicide”
David Brenner – Vocals, Bass, Percussion, Drums, Effects, Field Recordings

“Autophagia Demonstration”
David Brenner – Vocals, Bass, Keyboards, Immersion Contact Mic, Percussion, Field Recordings, Culinary
Andy Hess – Programming/Percussion
Benjamin Levitt – Accordion, Effects
Christopher Henry – Ukulele, Effects

“Wish To Disinvent”
David Brenner – Vocals, Percussion, Effects, Field Recordings
Star Schaaf – Theremin
Izzie Schaaf – Synth (micro Korg)
Mason Schaaf – Synth (micro Korg)
Chuck Schaaf – Drums

“Debris Signature”
David Brenner – Vocals, Bass, Drums, Percussion, Field Recordings, Effects
Benjamin Levitt – Accordion, Effects
Pete Tsakiris – Guitars
Lane Oliver – Guitars

“Beyond Containment”
David Brenner – Vocals, Bass, Keyboards, Analog Drum Machine, Didgeridoo, Percussion, Effects, Field Recordings

David Brenner – Vocals, Bass, Drums/Percussion, Field Recordings, Effects
Leila Abdul-Rauf – Vocals
Lane Oliver – Guitar
Matt Bacon – Classical Guitar


“Another dose of noise-fueled misanthropy from New York… with this new album the powerviolence largely takes a backseat in favour of crawling, serpentine slithers of dystopic noise, all dredged from the nether regions of protagonist Dave Brenner’s fevered mind, ready to be transplanted into the part of your mind reserved only for the most hideous, upsetting visions. […] Such is the skill with which sounds and moods are manipulated, the end result is the soundtrack to each listener’s own private hell. That’s a devil of a trick to pull off, but somehow GRIDFAILURE have managed it here. Hats off.” – Sentinel Daily

Related Items